Rising Water

Managed to get out for an hour today for my walk...it was raining quite a lot but eased up about half way round.

I stopped by the cattle ramp in the centre of the village to take this snap of the beck. Normally this is a gentle trickle but the level is already slightly raised because of the melting snow. I suspect it will get higher after Storm Christoph has passed through. I have seen it up to the bottom of the window of the cottage on the left before now, so it still has a way to go to cause flooding. The Red Lion pub in the background has flood gates in place on the entrances!

My mum’s apartment complex situation has worsened since Sunday, there are now 18 residents with COVID (50% increase) and, of those, three have now died, including one of her close friends. Two more staff are also ill. She still has not had her test results, so is chasing them up. I suggested getting another test done, but she “doesn’t like to bother them”...typical!

It is all very worrying and deeply depressing..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.