pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

46

Despite the silence in the house and the wet, grey and uninspiring day most of us looked out upon today, nothing could dampen my spirits.

Joe Biden becoming President is very definitely ‘a good thing’ and like many, I even found myself watching the run up to his inauguration as lots of very important people milled around the balcony (?) of the Capitol. By the look of it, probably just trying to keep warm….

Following years of listening to puerile drivel emanating from a misplaced sewer pipe, I would be willing to bet that there were many tears shed as the world listened to an intelligent, articulate and acutely self-aware man set out his agenda of renewal through unity.

It’s a behemoth of a task which lies ahead of him and his administration, but after hearing that speech, I felt my cold, long-standing despair for the US start to thaw in the heat of hope. We can but hope that our neighbours across the water once again have the leader (and VP) they need at this moment in their history.

If Joe’s speech didn’t trip your switch and you tuned out, then it would certainly be worth checking out the incredible poem that followed him which was delivered by Amanda Gorman. I hadn’t heard of her before today, but her poem and perfectly pitched delivery of it will stay with me for some time to come. 

Congratulations everyone, we’ve just had the first significantly good piece of global news this decade.

Let’s hope we can build on it.

Cheers Joe!

Stay healthy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.