carliewired

By carliewired

Pink Hyacinth

Reruns of my last
year's choice, in full bloom today -
a surprising gift!

Last spring I came home with a pot of glorious, pink hyacinth from my grocery store. They were scented and robust. I enjoyed them for a couple of weeks in my kitchen. When they died back, I put the pot in my back hallway with the intent of digging the bulbs into my front garden. They were completely forgotten until I noticed three green points emerging from the pot sometime before Christmas. The pot had not received water or sunlight for months. I was amazed! 

I brought the pot into my kitchen once again. I poured some water into the pot and set it by the window. I have watched this pot come to life over some weeks now. Blossoms emerged slowly. Just today it has come into full bloom with the most delightful scent that has carried through the house. 

I've read that the hyacinth is a symbol of peace, commitment, power and pride. It seems only fitting that it is at its best here on Inauguration Day in the US. We have great hopes for this new administration as it begins to heal a divided nation and control its pandemic issues. As our neighbour and our largest trading partner, the US affects us greatly. We wish for the best. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.