Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Getting ready

I know we have plenty more cold to come (and personally I'd quite like to see some snow), but today it really felt as though this part of the world was getting ready for spring.  The snowdrops are coming out under the lime tree and the adult swans are very much paired up.  A couple are inspecting nesting sites in the Nuns' Stream, just down from the flats where someone feeds them every morning.  I see them waddling over the grass to get their brekkie.

This, however, is one of last year's cygnets.  I saw her meandering in the flooded reedbed.  I know, another swan, but the light was so very beautiful!  And in extras is a close-up of her wing feathers.

I have been going to the reserve less often lately because of the number of runners who shout at walkers and walkers who shout at runners,.  No-one wants to share the narrow paths during covid and I can't entirely blame them.  This can make things very stressful.  Today though, it was blissfully peaceful.  The only two people I saw were a birder and the head of the Wildlife Trust - both of whom I stopped to speak to.  And there is a new notice on the gate asking people to behave!

Okay, that's me.  Have a great evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.