This is the small bed in the greenhouse that I am trying to get usable for early seeds. Two days ago, when I removed bags and rakes and plant pots from here, then the substrate of garden equipment that my predecessor had left, I found a flimsy layer of powdery soil with a few tenacious weeds trying to struggle through. (A bit like the bed on the left that I haven't started on yet.) This morning I barrowed sieved compost from the heap and started digging it in.  

Last June my mum and I dug a staggering quantity of ironmongery out of my new garden. Over the weeks there was more and more and in August I registered as a scrap metal dealer. I really didn't expect the same in the greenhouse soil but on this bit of A4 are the screws and nails I dug out of just this small bed this morning. A little of the non-metal rubbish that has surfaced today (china, glass, wood, and the teabags that blighted my own composting until I realised two years ago (text here) that they do not biodegrade) is in the 10cm-high round pot to the left. There is more to extract before I put any seeds in.

My predecessors were clearly keen gardeners and I'll forgive them the indestructible teabags but why would they fill their garden with all the other rubbish?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.