Looks Promising!

We had some sunshine on and off today. This morning it was raining cats and dogs!  I timed my walk a little bit better (compared to yesterday) and had mostly sunshine. I didn’t walk around the lake or through any fields as I just didn’t want to battle the mud. I walked around the village - not the sometimes busy centre where the shops are - I kept to residential streets. A 40 minute walk. Since I gave stats for who I encountered yesterday, I’ll do the same for today:

Swans - 0
Dogs - 5
Humans - 79

I shocked myself!

I was delighted to find this carpet of daffodils - there were lots more not yet open. Promising signs of spring - there will soon be lots of yellow everywhere!

In other news - it’s a big weekend in the Cross-country skiing world!  Three days of ski races instead of the normal two. So the morning was spent in front of the TV and fireplace watching the races that took place in Falun, Sweden. I had coffee and Swedish cinnamon buns - kanelbullar.  The women’s race (10k) was particularly exciting because my favourite - Jessie Diggins from the USA - got the gold, beating Norway’s Therese Johaug who almost always comes first! Jessie is doing so well this year she may very well win the World Cup!  The American team - fairly new to this sport - had 3 in the top 10! Not only that, but in the men’s race (15k), there were two from the US in the top 15, along with our very own Andrew Musgrave from Great Britain, who came in 6th. Not bad for an athlete from a country with very little snow!

I probably should have had American and English food to celebrate, but since the events are being held in Sweden I continued with the Swedish theme for dinner - pickled herring 4 ways with potatoes. Yum!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.