A Taste Of Sweden

Today was day 2 of the 3-day Cross-Country Skiing mini-tour from Falun in Sweden. Not only that, but one of their own - Linn Svahn - who is one of their best sprinters, got the gold in the 10k distance race!  She even beat Norway’s Therese Johaug who wins almost every distance race!  It was a very exciting afternoon of skiing, with the men doing a 15k race (with more predictable results).

I’m eating my way through Swedish cuisine these three days!  Last evening it was  pickled herring (4 ways) with boiled new potatoes. This evening it was a shrimp sandwich - open faced with hard boiled egg, cucumber, tomatoes, mayonnaise and lots of dill. For dessert was a small Princess Cake* - traditionally green, but these lovely ones are pink. Delicious!  

*Princess Cakes - (frozen) from that famous Swedish supermarket that also sells flat-packed furniture.

Any guesses what is on the menu for Sunday?

In other news:
I finished another puzzle late last night/early this morning. I stayed up til 1230am!  See Extra photo. It was loaned to me by a friend. I have to say it wasn’t my favourite - all those dark colours made it hard to do!  But once I’d got 3/4 of it done I couldn’t stop til it was finished!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.