Mud - not so glorious mud!

Togged up for a walk and decided to walk across the field and into St Ives at the bottom end of the estate which I thought might be a little quieter on a weekend.  So busy avoiding the boggy bits that I missed the turn off for the path and ended up at a wall.  There was a low section so I clambered over, put my foot down into slippery mud, and slid down a slope to a stream on my behind!  No harm done, so jumped across the stream to a leafy dry looking area and sank beyond ankle height in deep mud!  Couldn’t move, and the boots weren’t for coming out, so had to pull my feet out and dig the boots out with a stick!  The language wasn’t repeatable!  Walked down towards another wall which I had to climb to get back into the field I’d been aiming for.  Got on top and thought I could lower myself down as it was higher than I had thought - the top stone I was holding onto then moved and I fell backwards landing on my back on a sharp stone, with the wall’s top stone on top of me! Thank goodness nobody around to see me floundering, haha.  Very sore back, but at least I could walk.  I then had to walk across the field and decided to go through a gate into the estate. My bag and gloves were also caked in mud so I got some strange looks as I was walking through the woodland.  Back home I just took everything off and threw the clothes in the washer and the boots in a bucket.  There was much less mud on them by the time I got home, but they should be mainly blue, not black!  Going to tag this for Silly Saturday even though it is the wrong week officially.  Now got a very sore back, although not a mark on it - be interesting to see if it is bruised tomorrow. 2 inches to the left and I would have landed right on my spine, so lucky in one way!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.