Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Did someone say Birdday?

Nature gave me a lovely birthday present today - no sooner had I stepped out on the deck (where it was really cold) than a big female Cooper's Hawk strafed through the feeding area. She landed on a small canopy next to the relocated Christmas tree where I was able to snap a couple of eye-level shots before she took off into the woods. While I fired off a handful of shots, the titmice and chickadees were all up in the pine trees sending out alarm calls.  So, here's yard bird # 7 and my personal birthday/birdday present from nature.

When I woke up this morning, Hubs made his famous blueberry walnut pancakes (with an added ingredient of bananas - yum).  Then I had a long video chat with my parents who were both looking great.  I want to hug them both sooooo much, but eventually it will be safe to head to OR and be with them.  Patience...  Hubs and I also made a run to Starbucks and treated ourselves to a chai latte (me) and frappe (him).  

Zoom cocktails with my besties tonight at 5 which will be great fun.  Not our usual day-long celebration but we will eventually be able to make up for lost time.  I learned today that Kura is scheduled for her first Pfizer vax next Sunday, so am thrilled for her.  

SIL is in the throes of moving and expects to spend her first night in her new digs tomorrow night.  Both exciting and a little scary for her but mostly exciting, I think.  

We are in the crosshairs of what could potentially be a pretty big snow storm starting Sunday night - we'll see.  These winter storms are never really easy to predict so we could get a foot of snow, or we could get an inch.  

Well, this is certainly not a birthday like any other I've had, but it's been a good day.  Sixty five is a momentous birthday - at least in my mind.  I can no longer even pretend to cling to middle age at this point.  But I am a healthy 65 and I plan to have a lot more adventures before I call it a day.  

Two more pics on Flickr, starting HERE - a side view of the Coops and a hyper-alert tufted titmouse

Be safe out there people.  Don't forget to be kind and caring.  I've got the chocolate covered...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.