Up, up and away!

A gorgeous day today so after lunch I went up Battleship Hill where there was a fierce wind blowing from the NE, I think. I didn't stay long, but took quite a few pictures of the wonderful view, one of which I've put on as an extra. On the way down a guy passed me running up hill and passed me again running downhill before I'd reached the bottom. Those were the days!
 
On the way home I stopped at the Corran Halls, Oban's unattractive 1960s 'venue' where everything from concerts to craft fairs is held. It's a scruffy building, uncared for, and the surroundings are even worse. There are areas of badly cut grass and several unkempt beds of shrubs, never weeded and full of brambles. Many of the shrubs are wind-scorched and most have been butchered in the name of pruning. Rhododendrons sit there full of buds, but with their sides shorn off and every other shrub has been given an annual once-over with a hedge trimmer. I'm hoping that Keep Oban Beautiful can take them over. I won't go on - it's such a disaster. Watch this space, as they say!
 
Limerick of the Day:

A plant hunter left Montreal    
To trek with some friends in Nepal.
They found seeds a-plenty
Which unfortunately meant he
Just couldn’t put names to them all. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.