Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Buzzard

I start the day intending to attempt today’s MM challenge though I’ve already worked out that using ‘a real animal’ is going to be a challenge in itself. We once had an iguana which would have made a perfect subject, but it’s now a choice between an ancient teddy, a toy orang utan and a bronze(ish) moon gazing hare. I have a go with the latter and I’m quite pleased with the results, but it is, undoubtedly, breaking the challenge rules. 

So, I decide to explore our local environs. Now there are two things I need: one, a suitably compliant and photogenic animal; and two, light. I’m thinking sunlight, but yet again it’s in short supply. 

There seems to be a few rays up the Nant y Glyn valley which is also home to the sheep and ponies I’ve featured in previous blips. It’s an uphill climb, and leads to disappointment as the fields are empty and thick cloud descends. Of course it’s beautiful and as usual I take far too many shots, but none are suitable for the challenge. 

There have been buzzards flying overhead all afternoon, but as usual my attempts to capture them are blurs or tiny silhouettes. Suddenly, the sun comes out. It’s low by now and shines intensely on the trees at the other side of the valley. One buzzard flies down and perches, catching the late afternoon light. 

Today I have right lens with me - though I struggle with distant bird shots. A fence post stands in for a tripod, but it’s hard to keep steady. I’d love to have the detailed textures of its feathers, but at least I have the eyes. 

Two shots make the final cut today - in the end (with the usual dither) I opt for this one as I like the softness of its face. A most un-buzzardy buzzard. 

Thanks to everyone for your comments, advice and stars yesterday - all very much appreciated. I’m afraid I’ve been slow to reply to comments this time,  but will try to catch up now! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.