High Street

I was awake far too early and couldn’t get back to sleep so I eventually got up.  I lay on the sofa and red my book for a while, then embarked on an ironing marathon.  I have pretty much given up ironing over the past year, apart from the things that really need it.  However, I have accumulated quite a pile of things that needed ironing over the past month or so, so I had a good go at clearing it this morning.   I felt like I had achieved something, but  then I had to put it all away, which felt like more of a chore. I thought of going out for an early walk but it was really icy, so I decided against it.  Next I made soup – a new recipe that came my way.  I’m not sure what it will be like, but it will be lunch for at least a couple of days this week.  I then moved onto prepping tea. 
After lunch we three headed out for a walk in the sunshine mostly avoiding the mud, though we were pretty much over the feet, wading through a muddy section of path at one point.  We think there must be a drainage problem in an adjoining field as there never used to me so much water in that area.
I was on tea tonight.  While it was cooking, I baked a chocolate cake.  After tea  I was feeling quite weary, when TT reminded me that I had been up since before the crack of dawn.  My next stop was the sofa.  It has been a good weekend, not that we have done very much, but I have not had the pressure of work hanging over me.  Sometimes you don’t miss these things until they are gone.
This is a view along the High Street this afternoon when we returned to town after our walk.  I like the jumble of rooftops, chimney and the different colours.  The extra is BB and TT walking along a frozen path.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.