carliewired

By carliewired

On Ice

I froze my fingers
watching geese and ducks cavort
in their bathing spot

~ carliewired

I was slow getting up this morning. Slow getting out the door with my camera. I seem to be drawn to waterfowl these days. I find them fascinating to watch. They have personalities and amusing behaviours. 

I did my favourite drive-thru, then drove to McArthur Island to sip my coffee and watch the birds. I had to get out of the truck to see what their interest was in the waterway between the island and the the rest of the city. It seems to have frozen over with some gaps left for activity. Geese and ducks gathered around the biggest hole in the ice as if it were a hot tub. 

What is that short orange thing with a propeller that's been driven into the ground? There are several around the baseball diamond and the soccer fields. Is it to indicate wind velocity and direction? I have no idea!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.