Journey Through Time

By Sue

Promises to Keep

The promise of spring is strong, even though it is late February and it's not exactly warm and cozy outside. Springtime in the Pacific Northwest is a long term affair. Typically we have a long, wet and cool spring, but that can be interspersed with periods of warmth, sometimes as early as mid March we will get a fantastic week of weather. More often it isn't until May. The last two springs have been miserable affairs with much too cold of weather and lots of rain. It was so cold that the Tulip Festivals had to add additional weeks onto their usual time so that people could see the tulips in full bloom. Here we are at a blip meet, April 2011, freezing our butts off. This is the time of year when I can get "weather depressed" as it can take awhile for summer to show up. The trade off is that our blizzards are few and far between (even in the Cascade mountains), we don't have tornadoes or hurricanes (although we do get what is called a cold core tornado now and then, and hurricane force winds can come to the coast via storms) and we don't get nor'easters. That's because we aren't in the nor'east. ;)

This is one of our more dryer February's that we have had. Something like the 4th dryest since record keeping began. But there is plenty of snowfall in the mountains, which is a good thing.

Another neighbor's newly planted spring flower planter by their house provided me with this bit of color. I popped the color, otherwise it would look a bit drab. And if you don't mind a bit of (coff, coff) bragging, my blip of these crocus was Picture of the Day on the Clark Count/SW Washington photo site that I also submit photos to. I was surprised and pleased. As we all are when one of our photos is afforded a special honor. Right Debi? Check out her good news!

Bill is heading off to the Trailblazer basketball game and I am going to catch up on a couple of my TV shows. My son and I started watching The Walking Dead, and now I have to watch it because he wants to talk about it. LOL I saw a Zombie movie when I as a kid and it scared the living bejesus out of me and I was not fond of Zombie movies since then, however, I don't mind this one, even if it is gross. And I guess, in Georgia where it is filmed, you just haven't "lived" until you've been on the show as one of the "dead". See, you ladies are watching Downton Abbey, and I'm watching The Walking Dead. What is wrong with this picture? LOL

Okay then...enough of this nonsense. Hope your day is super duper so far.

Catch ya later, kids.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.