Creel Tree

BB is on holiday from school this week. I am off today and tomorrow.  It was a bright and sunny day - which was such a contrast to the dreichness of last week and really lifted my spirits.  BB and I headed to Dunbar – the first time we have been anywhere for over a month, and I can’t remember that last time I drove anywhere.  He has been doing some work for his Duke of Edinburgh award – preparing for the expedition.  That had involved  mapping out a short local route and they had to walk it this week, taking an adult along .  His route was at Dunbar.
Having parked up, I didn’t want to get out of the car as I knew it was going to be bitterly cold.  It was, but at least we set off with the wind behind us.  It was lovely but so cold and windy.  The sea was  wild, as we walked along the coast, with showers around about us, but never on us.  His route then took us inland, in a circuit back to where we had parked.  A new circular route for us, that worked out very well.  We stopped  to pick up a few things on the way back, then were pleased to get home to warm up.
Later I popped out to the post office, but as it was still such a nice day, I took a walk around by the river.  I looked out for otters and kingfishers, but they weren’t around today.  I wore my old work coat this afternoon, probably the first time since I have had it on since I was last at work, as in the pocket I found the bus ticket from my journey home on 17 March 2020, the day we were sent home.
Later I called my dad and heard they have lost of snow, and that he has barely been out of the house for the past week, as the weather has been so awful.  He will be going stir crazy.  I also heard from a couple of friends today, one has tested positive, after feeling under the weather all weekend.  She's a teacher.  The other is self isolating after being contacted through the app.  I also heard that an old lady we know has dies=d.  She had been in a care home and all she wanted was to get back to her own house.  it wasn't to be.  So sad.
I made a quick prawn curry using more of my curry leaves.  Later I discovered a recent re-make of Rebecca on Netflix, which filled a couple of hours.  Rebecca is one of my favourite books and I was looking for my copy recently, but think it has been packed away.  I finished my evening off with some more Mrs Maisel, while  TT made his marmalade.  Everything was white when I went to bed.
I spotted this Christmas tree made of creels, still adorning the harbour at Dunbar.  The extras are from our walk,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.