The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Gluten free cheese crackers

I made these and they actually worked! Gluten free pastry is very hard to handle, because it falls apart. This was a recipe where you had to make flaky, or rough puff, by rolling, spreading with butter, folding, rolling again, folding, spreading with butter, folding, etc. A challenge, but it was easier than expected, and the biscuits taste cheesy, and feel layered. Basically they are not tasteless, flat and hard, which is what most gluten free crackers are like. A great success, and they contain no sugar, which is very hard to cut down on. Sugar seems to pop up everywhere, even when I'm buying a paper or looking for an extension cable kit.

The other good news is that my brain and body seem to be operating normally again today. I've been down to town for my weekly LF coVid test (negative). Met a friend, we shopped for essentials and shared a gluten- free pie while socially distancing. Yes, I am very fond of comfort food right now because it is literally freezing outside. Friend introduced me to an American woman from Canada, who is currently living in Stroud, in my neighbourhood. We are going for a walk next week, with her dog, a golden lab.

After we said our goodbyes I found some of the bread that friend J likes, so I took it to her house, downhill all the way, and then took the extreme up-steps challenge to a high part of Stroud, a network of lanes called The Leazes. Along Far Leazes I discovered that the woman who sells ex-supermarket flowers in aid of the Stroud hospital league of friends has restarted the scheme, in a small way. Hurrah! I used to buy flowers from her often, when I had a job near her home, but I assumed she had stopped because of the pandemic. Now I shall try and get up there at least once a week. It's s bit out of the way, but I like my walks, and from the spine that is Bisley Old Road, there are views over the Slad Valley and the Golden Valley, as well as over the Severn Vale.

Thus exercised, I walked home and made crackers. The news from Fort William is that my mother's second husband is still hanging on to his life by a thread. I'm execting to hear otherwise, every time the phone pings. I'm desperately sorry for everyone concerned, and feel very far away from it all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.