Capital adventures

By marchmont

11 Feb

Now if you are an Aberdeenshire fisher this is a significant date, the opening of the salmon season on the R Don.  But I'm neither a salmon fisher nor in Aberdeenshire.

I was up again before 9, though I'd been listening to 'Today' since 6.
It was a beautiful day - cold, well below freezing but very sunny and crisp.
Apart sorting out the paperwork for tomorrow I headed out.  The walk across Liberton Park was uneventful, no over enthusiastic lab like dog bounding into my stomach like the other day.  I went up to Mortonhall to see the hielan' coos and then back up and round the Braid Hills loop.  i walked quite a long way along Braid Hills Road, mainly in the road the snow as so deep on the pavement, to see how far I could see west to the mountains and then back via Margiotta, who did not have what I wanted. had no The views across to Fife and down to Gorebridge and a snow capped Berwick Law were stunning.  I was out over 2 hours and reluctant to come back in.  When I did get home I discovered I'd lost my house key - must have been pulled out my pocket with either my camera or phone.  Well at least it's anonymous, and I have a key box. Elsewhere the family were having yee sang for their CNY Reunion dinner, a restricted affair in Mont Kiara rather than the large gathering in the Chinese restaurant in Cheras. 

I spent the afternoon, after my late lunch, organising flowers for my NZ non relative friend's 80th next week.  She's celebrated it so far by doing a tandem jump out a plane with her grandson and on Monday they are  kayaking together to an island in Auckland Harbour for his 21st.  She is not one to let age get her down.

After my weekly catch up with A and a chat with J I went for a long soak, now it is ok to have  bath and read some more of Richard Osman.  It has big print.  I didn't need my glasses. J's neighbour in France has had his first Pfizer vaccine.  he is mid 70's so they are hopeful they will get theirs soon. 

Now settling down with 'Call my Agent' on Netflix.  I'm told I'll enjoy it. 

F2F - 2
Phone calls - 1
Virtual - 1
Recovery day 20

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.