carliewired

By carliewired

Around the Island

When waterways are 
frozen over, habits must
change, all's different.

~ carliewired

N arrived this morning to install shelving in my bathroom closet. While he worked on that, I set up my new sewing machine. N did a lovely job with the shelves. I satisfied myself that the new machine will do the job. 

After lunch I drove to McArthur Island. Activity was much different this time. The water channel around the island is frozen solid with the low temperatures we've been having. There was no frolicking in the watering hole this time. Geese and ducks had taken to the sports fields. They seemed to be grazing everywhere. 

As soon as I'd stepped out of the vehicle with my camera, a very chatty magpie arrived and dogged my every step. Perhaps he was expecting some handout. He certainly wanted my attention. He did make a lovely portrait. 

The Thompson River on the south side of the island is more sand bars than water channels right now. I spotted a lonely deer out on the sand in the middle of the river bed.

-15 C this afternoon, but sunny and calm. The forecast is for warmer temperatures on the weekend. Is this all we get for winter this year?  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.