simisue

By simisue

ALMOST AN ABSRACT

There is a pair of COOPER'S HAWKS who  nested  last year, in or near this grove of pine trees, on the slope behind our house.  I saw the squeaky, gawky chick grow up & fly all over the area.  I saw it
dive bomb the parents, as if playing.  And  saw the crows 
menacing the young hawk, also.  Most of it, I saw while sitting in the back yard, walking with Angus or going to the mailbox.  This perch, high in the pine tree, was a favorite spot to meet at the end of the day.  This was the first time I had seen them, in a very long time.

I have photographed them many times, without success.
This time, I offer this capture as ALMOST AN ABSTRACT, because it 
barely illustrates this fine raptor.  I was so happy to see it, & tried so hard to capture it; but without a tripod & long lens, this is the best I could do.
Seeing it was enough.

I have been busy preparing for the arrival of my daughter & grandsons.  It has been over a year since we have been together & I am very excited.  They arrive on Saturday, & it will be a beautiful weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.