My memorial rose

Today I received a pile of parcels in the post. It was really quite exciting! A beautiful pair of fingerless gloves and matching hat, knitted by my talented sister in law Jenny, to help me keep warm at my desk. It has been particularly hard to type, as one of my blip fiends had commented on recently. The hot water bottle on my lap i use to warm my hands when they just stop working completely. I'm almost excited for work Monday now...actually, no, I'm not!

My other long awaited parcel is the rose. This was a very generous gift from my friend Karen in Linton. I chose the rose and spent a long time deciding which one would mean the most to me. None had a name that really linked to dad. Dad wasn't really a rose person, but he did love his vegetable gardening. Working long hours to build his business in Harlow, and pink being my favourite colour, meant it had to be this beautiful full rose named 'Harlow Carr'. It looks like a very healthy plant, and I now plan to buy a nice big pot for it. Thank you Karen, it is a very special present which I will treasure.

My last parcel was an order of fimo. Not all the colours I wanted, but a selection of new soft films, which I have plans for involving some walnut shells! When I have finished knitting my ear warmers, sewing, candle making, making a start on my sequel to Max's Time Travelling Adventure and making some paper with my brand new deckle....I had also hoped to make some cards over the weekend, and do a bit of family history research.

Hmmm. I really don't have time for work and household jobs.

Looking forward to another weekend with my family, and hopefully another walk, coffee and cake in Cromer! Maybe we'll bump into Dan again. A proper walk on the beach, in the biting wind when you are all wrapped up warm, can't be beaten :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.