Not picnic weather today

in fact it's positively dismal out there. Indie & I had done our lap of the heath before the rain came in .. I was kitted out for it just in case, it's quite mild so could have worn a layer less.
Yesterday I picked up a damaged sheet of black composite cladding that was on the roadside, adding it to "My installation". The price tag increased after every addition. The as I was walking across the heath, I thought to myself that I might be able to use the cladding for an outside art piece I have in mind so this morning before collecting Indie I drove up to the heath and popped the cladding in my car. I need to smuggle it in when hubby's in bed tomorrow morning, otherwise I know what he'll say ...

Mum & I had our cuppa and chat. She's been going through stuff, this morning she had 3 sets of pearls that belonged to grandma, presents from Grandad when he was in the Royal Navy in Singapore. Mum also produced a beautiful silver bracelet that she has never worn that as a birthday present from Dad, in the box was also an artificial leaf, a tiny silver shoe, & bell. Decorations from their wedding cake. Who wears pearls these days? Who to give them to? No one to pass them on to, we don't have children, my nieces would'nt want them, so no one that would appreciate them. There were some  pieces of gold jewellery as well. The best thing to do would be to sell them and buy something you do like, would wear, so I think once the jewellers are open again in Newton Abbot we'll take the pieces in and get them valued.
Back home ... there was a little experiment I wanted to try ... NOT involving my husband I hasten to add. It involved a Sweetheart cabbage (well it is Valentine's Day), printing ink, & paper. ............ I need a sharper knife. Now I've got the inks out I feel another lino cutting day approaching, could be tomorrow. What the challenge for Mono Monday this week .. Ah yes! 'Friend' ... Maybe not then ...

Nearly cider o'clock. 4pm Sundays. :-)

Thanks to Marlieske for hosting Derelict Sunday.

These picnic chairs have been at the back of the river bank for over 12 months. I put them there after pulling them out of the tangled mess around a fallen tree trunk on the rivers edge. I MUST report them. Rivers Authority or local council, I'm not sure?. I'll inform both, NOW, before I forget again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.