A day of more sorting

I thought we didn't do valentines day any more. I was wrong! Jon bought me a beautiful card and a miniature heart shaped tin of chocolates. I love tins almost as much as I love chocolate. I bought him...nothing :(. He forgave me!

Spent a while in the loft sorting and trying to pack things into the last remaining plastic box. That's when I stumbled across a box of my bits. Lots of cards, this big box of letters and an envelope containing 'certificates' (thats what it said on it). Inside, it had a school sports day programme from 1974 when I was in the 1st year (Mrs Sergent's class) at Haslewood. Lots of names i recognise. If you want to know which even you took part in, I'll look you up!! I managed to find 3 old valentines cards to recycle for Jon - sent to him in the distant past! There were lots more i had kept that he had sent me. He always wrote such lovely messages. I had quite a few of those big padded cards that came in a box. Are they still a thing? I have read a few ofbthe letters in the box this evening. Most sent between 1984 Nd 1986 when I was in Chester at college. They are from friends, family and boyfriends. Lots from Jon. Mollie commented on how lovely it was, to have lots of love letters, we wrote every week. I guess all they have now are texts these days, so I am glad I have these. I'm going to work my way through them this week. Then they will go back up into the box.

I ironed the red bunting triangles, and cut some fabric pieces out. Lots of sewing yo do.

Went to the allotment to feed the hens. Still so much snow, that I slipped when I was just getting going, my bike flew me and the basket I had filled with the compost waste, up into the air, projecting us onto the hard road on my back. I managed to stop my head hitting the ground but my back and bum took the brunt, so I am going to ache tomorrow. I've had a hot bath, so hopefully that might have helped stop too much aching tomorrow, but I do feel like I got a kind of whiplash. There is promise of higher temps tomorrow so fingers crossed that ice and snow will melt soon.

While cooking dinner there was a bang, and the boiler went off. Not good news. It would seem our house is now competing with the summerhouse in the 'where is the coolest place to be' competition. Another headache. Why aren't we used to this happening to us by now? Hope Jon can find someone to come and look at it soon. It is already feeling colder.

A bit of TV but we won't be staying up late.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.