Last snow

A bad start to our day. Jon had a plan to let the boiler restart itself this morning so that we had some warmth when we got up. It started but very noisily, and within half an hour a big bang like yesterday and it stopped. I got up and put lots of layers on.

If a broken boiler wasn't enough, we found the summerhouse had let in water through knots and cracks in the wood we think. Jon's side of the desk was wet, along with books papers and a lot of the carpet.

Henry's boss came over to assess the boiler at lunchtime, and confirmed it is dead and we need a new one. No telling how long we may have to wait. At least the garden snow is melting. Down the lane though, the road was still unrecognisable as a road at 5pm this afternoon.

In the afternoon Mollie kindly drove to Norwich to pick up mum so that she can have a change of scenery for a week. After work we spent an hour in the warm of mums lounge and after dinner I went back with Jon as she was watching the same TV programmes we watch on a Monday. Then Jon came back home and I stayed. I started reading the letters in my box. They took me back to being 15 again. Happy times. We wrote letters daily to each other. They read exactly like modern day texts, but with more meaning and without the emoji- although I have many from my boyfriend Roy where he did little doodles. Innocent happy times, and the letters bring it back. They seem to be in an order that is kind of time line, but so far I have read a big bundle from Isabel and a big bundle from Roy. We wrote every other day ( depending on whose turn it was) and exchanged letters on the way to and from school!

I even found THAT letter - if you are reading this Lynn and Isabel. That letter from one Brighton Guide camp circa 1981.

Sorted out mums bed and even found an electric blanket which I have fitted. Piled more blankets on, and have just left her now. Hence the late blip.

My aches? Yes, neck, and shoulders very much, and a large bruise developing on my rear. Lucky I have so much padding in that area.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.