Office!!

That's right - today I went to an office! Not what I call 'my' office, but a space in County Hall we have been allowed to start using on a first come first served basis ( desks and car park).

So I awoke at the ridiculously early time of 6am. I was ready to leave at 6.50 loaded up with computer and associated paper,pens,wheel,calculator etc and also a mug, teaspoon, teabags, milk, coffee and my lunch. And because it is a hot decking ad hoc arrangement, it can't be left anywhere so has to come backwards and forwards with me.

I arrived at the building at exactly the same time as Matthew, so we made our way up to floor 3...by the stairs. That reminded me of how unfit I am.

Dan and Lorraine were already there - it's the first time I have seen them in 2 years. It was a refreshing change. We found desks near to them, but with every other desk out of bounds to adhere with covid rules, only 3 people can sit on every bank of 6 desks. Shortly after we were settled some other 'finance' staff turned up to sit at the desks. There were only 2, and after a while they moved. We got the feeling they usually sit there - it isn't ideal. Anyway, I got some work done, and had my coffee break chatting to Lorraine, so that was nice. And a bit of general office chat between the 4 of us was welcome.

I left the office at 4. Arrived home at 5.10. The plus was daylight to drive in. I definitely felt better for going to an office and it will be even better if they give the pensions team our own dedicated area. Maybe I can hang on until then, but it just depends what else turns up. As there is so little around, I guess I'll still be doing this job and if driving to Norwich a couple of times a week improves my mood, then that is a positive. Although, it may not improve the mood of those around me, if I continue to moan....oh well. Some things I can't change.

Was home just in time to get changed and have a quick cuppa, before yoga. We were a bit late. But in no time felt relaxed, then stretched, then relaxed again.

Home and we cooked dinner together. Spicy 3 bean chilli. Now we are watching The Pottery throw down from Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.