Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Terrific Ten

I decided to use this for my visual record for my yard birds list this year - a female White Breasted Nuthatch.  I chose this particular shot because it really shows how her cap is dark gray versus the male's which is almost black (see Extra).  These friendly little nuthatches are year-round birds in our yard and can be seen on almost any day of the year.  There are several pairs who nest in our woods and they do very funny territorial displays all year, involving a flaring of wings and raising of feathers all along the back.  I suppose it is supposed to look fearsome, but I find it endearingly funny.  

Had a great phone visit with my parents today.  They are iced in at their condo.  They live in a part of the Portland area that got a little snow and a lot of ice.  Mom has been carefully changing out hummingbird feeders all day to keep the nectar from freezing, but other than that they are both staying inside.  Dad was talking about split pea soup for dinner tonight...

I spent a little time out back today before retreating inside for a nap.  It was one of those day where I woke up tired.  It warmed up just enough this afternoon for some of the ice on the deck to soften enough for me to remove it late this afternoon.  That said, it's still an ocean of white everywhere I look.  Put more dried corn out for the deer tonight.  

Hubs and I are now both 2 weeks post our second Covid vax which should mean that we have as much immunity is we are going to get.  I think I will cautiously visit the gym tomorrow.  I really want to get back to lifting weights again but just didn't feel safe doing it up to now.  So, I'll go and see how I feel.

Stay safe, people.  Be kind.  

xo
Debbi

PS:  The interloper wren is still here and both Lefty and Mrs Lefty were busy chattering at him and giving occasional chase while I was outside.  He is definitely paler than either of them so easy to identify

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.