Some things I treasure

I always wore my late brothers St Christopher, then one day when I was away looking after Yogi I realised it had gone. I was so upset. I went back to the hedge where I'd  dived in earlier that day to retrieve Yogi's ball, the only place I thought it might have come off, but it was nowhere to be seen, so I purchased a new one to replace it. Not quite the same I know but it reminds me of Neil. The silver bird I had made in memory of my dad.  When Mum & I returned from the hospital the morning Dad passed away many different birds came into the feeders in their garden. A Greater Spotted woodpecker that Mum & Dad had never spotted in the garden before, plus nuthatches, chaffinches, A Bullfinch, & the regulars. It was really strange. Mum has never forgotten, neither have I. My older brother had Dad's watch, & Mum gave me some money to buy something. I asked Gillian Stein to make me a little silver bird, as I had earrings with these little birds on them already.

A lovely bright morning, I was feeling chipper, then Mr Grumpy put the dampeners on it, so I went the loooooooooooooooooong route around to buy the newspaper. Beautiful birdsong, a skylark heard but not spotted, primroses in the hedgerow, the mosses & ferns looking lush.
Got into Chudleigh then remembered I had'nt put a mask in my pocket. Not to worry, the Coop has a box of disposable masks just inside the door for customers. I should have bought birdseed but  could'nt carry any more shopping. GRH!!!
By the time I returned, the Aygo was gone. Perhaps, just perhaps, he'd taken it to see about getting the leak fixed. The drivers foot well is sodden after rain which of course causes condensation. A nightmare!!! His solution to put a piece of carpet underneath the mat is NOT going to solve the problem. Hey ho!!! Sun was shining I scrubbed the brick paving, the bird food has made such a mess, the last thing I want is grasses sprouting up through when the weather warms up.  I transplanted some seedling foxgloves that were in the gravel path before heading in to make lunch.

This afternoon I've been patching my jeans .. YEP! A tiny tear became a big rip when my toes went through this morning. A bit fiddly, I was going to get the machine out but decided I'd handstitch them. Very satisfying it was too, with Laura Mvula singing along.

Now it's cider o'clock & The Chase, before making dinner.

Thanks to pinkhairedlady for hosting Tiny Tuesday and suggesting 'Something you treasure' for this weeks theme.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.