Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Heavenly Eleven

This will be my visual record shot of a male Northern Cardinal for my 2021 Yard birds list  I honestly don't know what is more striking than a bright red bird on a snowy day.  And on this day, I counted 7 males and 6 females - a feast for the eyes.

And, yes, it is still snowing although we didn't get nearly as much snow as predicted, only maybe six inches.  Of course, that is in addition to all the snow that was already out there so...it's a lot of snow.  However, I'm a happy photographer when it snows so I managed to fritter away most of the day taking photos.  I figured the roads were too nasty to try to get to the gym (even assuming it was open).  

More deer around today.  I was outside for a bit and didn't realize a group of three were halfway out of the woods.  They spotted me about the same time I spotted them and after a few tense moments, they took off into the woods.  A bit later, a buck came around (I was back inside by then) and found his way to a pile of dried corn I'd put out.  He looked pretty healthy but was obviously very hungry as he wolfed down the corn in short order.  

I checked in with my parents last night and this morning to see how they were doing after the vaccine.  Last night they were both a little chilly, so probably a mild fever.  Today Dad said they are both just tired (and sore arms, of course).  I'm trying not to "helicopter" too much but not sure I'm being entirely successful.  Hard being 3,000 miles away.  

Meanwhile, my bestie, Kura, had to say goodbye to her sweet ginger cat Bailey this morning.  He'd been doing poorly for several weeks and she had finally just run out of options.  It's always so sad.  Fortunately, tonight is our bi-weekly zoom cocktail hour so we can all give her virtual hugs and hopefully cheer her up.  

Be kind, be safe.  And today I am going with dark chocolate with almond slivers.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.