St Elphin

As far as I know there is only one church dedicated to St Elphin, and that is Warrington’s parish church.

There has been a church on the site since about 650 AD. Elphin is described as a companion of Oswald, king of Northumbria. Oswald is also a saint, with the church at nearby Winwick being dedicated to him. Oswald died in battle nearby, Elphin was the first priest of this church until his death or martyrdom in 679 AD.

The current building is substantially a Victorian rebuild/ restoration. The 281 ft high spire, the church’s most notable feature, was added in that era. I have added it as an extra, I may have another go another day when the sky is more interesting and at a time when I am not shooting into the sun. in the meantime, I like this gargoyle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.