An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Is your tortoise anorexic?

Pardon?  

Good grief, of all the things to be worrying about right now, I never imagined anorexic tortoises may be causing sleepless nights!  

David was confronted with this question when he logged onto Wormcount to order Lola's quarterly wornmcount kit.  He found himself on their blog where anorexic tortoises appeared to be the topic of the day.  Made me glad I don't have one as that's one worry I don't need! 

Alan had another settled night and appears his usual self, but there are still enough little things that on their own are not worrying, but put together make us believe he's not 100%.  We have a telephone consultation with our GP in the morning so shall see what comes of that.

Such a beautiful day.  A real feel of spring in the air, so after lunch David suggested a wee run round the back roads and faster than he could say"if you fancy it" my shoes were on, camera in hand and I was ready.

We drove down through out little town High Street.  That's the first time I've been down that direction since 6th November!  I was surprised to see how busy it was although it was reassuring to see the majority of people were wearing masks.

We spent about an hour crossing the Strathearn countryside.  I was keen to see the River Earn , suspecting the levels to be high and I wasn't wrong.  Not only high, but over-flowing.  The shots in extras show not the river but the fields where it has breached its banks and caused extensive flooding, right up to the edge of the road in some places!

Oh it felt so good to be out in open space and breathing fresh air at last.  I was also delighted to see banks and banks of beautiful snowdrops., a sight I've been enjoying on blip but was so keen to see in real life.  I returned home feeling much brighter in the knowledge that (hopefully) the worst of the winter is over with and spring is on the cusp.

Dinner tonight was Malaysian Chicken with coconut, lemongrass and butternut squash from The Roasting Tin around the World cookbook.  Words cannot describe how amazing it was.  This cookbook really is worth its weight in gold.

Vet visit for Lola tomorrow for her annual MOT and titre test.  She has definitely lost weight since Alan's team were instructed not to feed her snacks, so will be interesting to see what she weighs.  Hopefully no more fat shaming at the vet :-))) 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.