Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sights from my Bike Ride

It was finally warm and ice-free enough to get out for a ride.  I still had to dodge patches of ice on the road and trail but I wasn't able to avoid all the mud.  Trixie really needs a bath!  There's no sense doing it now, though, because I think there will be more mud in our immediate future. :-)

I was excited to see calves in the pasture today (top left), a sure promise of spring!  It seemed like every cow had one and they were all the same size.  Must have been something in the water.  In that shot, notice the cow and calf in the left background.  That little guy was really feisty and mom was having to chase after him.  It was funny to watch.  The next shot was taken to demonstrate the wind.  It was howling and I was riding straight into it for a good portion of the 32 miles I rode.  Next is an American Kestrel, not sitting on a wire for a change.  The middle image is Trixie's odometer.  Today we hit 1800 miles together!

In the bottom row, Mt. Evans, Longs Peak and Mt. Lady Washington are framed by a curious llama on the left and a Texas Longhorn on the right.  There were four longhorns in the pasture but this one posed nicely and even licked his lips in anticipation.  If you look closely, you can see his tongue.

The wind was blowing from the southwest and I purposely started off riding into it so I would have a nice push when I looped back toward home.  It worked out perfectly.  Even with Trixie's pedal assist, it was hard work so I was very happy to have a little extra help from the wind behind me on the way home.  It's funny that riding into or perpendicular to the wind, it's very loud in my ears (which were well covered).  Once it's behind me, it's almost as if it stops because it's no longer blowing in my ears so it seems very quiet. :-)

Thank you to everyone for your visits and stars and hearts on my blips!  I really appreciate all of them! 

I am grateful that I didn't let the wind deter me today.  I really needed the outside time!  I'm definitely looking forward to spring!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.