Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Plan B

Sorry, running a little behind with my Blips!

The weather on Sunday was beautiful - sunny and bright - and a welcome change from what we had experienced recently. I decided to stretch my wings a little and drove over to Plean Country Park, just over the Stirling county boundary. However, the car park and overflow car park were both full - lots of other people having the same thoughts as me about choosing a good location for a Sunday afternoon walk - and I abandoned that idea fairly quickly.

I reckoned that the usual haunts in Falkirk, eg, the Helix Park, Falkirk Wheel, Callendar Park, etc would be similarly busy so I parked in Summerford, near the location of my recent crocus photo-stop, and walked up onto the Union Canal. I followed that east for a two or three miles, including a walk through the Falkirk Tunnel (see extra) until reaching Glen Village, the location of my main photo.

The towpath was blocked a short distance further on, so I retraced my steps continuing on past my start-point until I had almost reached the Falkirk Wheel and then I cut down through the houses and followed the streets back to my car. My 8.6km walk was most enjoyable, and it was great, too, to get a walk in the sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.