What a plonker!

As I was driving down to CK this morning, I spotted a decorative screening block on the side of the road. Blimey! I thought to myself, if someones tyre catches that when there is traffic behind, or a cyclist (It's a very well used road by the local cycling fraternity), it could have dire consequences, so I turned off for CK, double backed on myself, parked the car safely then walked back to pick up the block, hoping that no one came along before I got to it. A few vehicles passed but they drove out around it. I waited for a break in the traffic, then nipped across the road and  retrieved it. It was'nt a decorative screening block but a piece of dark grey foam packaging. DUH!!!! On my way back to the car carrying the foam I spotted a length of polythene wrapper caught in the hedgerow, flapping in the wind so dashed back across the road and picked that up too. That was just the start of my morning.
Prior to that I rescued the laundry that had wrapped itself around the whirlygig in the night. I don't normally leave washing out but it was blowing lovely last evening. Once untangled, I brought it in. It had dried. The birds are flicking through the pieces of mossy saxifrage on the roof looking for tasty little morsels, so everyday there are pieces on the patio. This was one of them. They look so delicate, but are obviously tough little plants, surviving on next to nothing.
My Tiny Tuesday - Something from the natural world. Thanks to pinkhairedlady for hosting what is the 300th Tiny Tuesday. Whoop whoop!!
At Mum's I took all the boxed glass down out of the loft ... Royal Doulton Crystal decanters & glasses, Dartington crystal jugs ....... Everything if not down from the loft, sorted. Lots of new towels so I suggested Mum swapped all hers for new ones, especially if they, along with the duvets,sheets etc., end up at the local animal rescue centre. I took some photos of some unused foam thinking a crafter might be able to use it. Posted it on a local FB page, got a reply from a seamstress in Chudleigh - "Yes please". :-) "Would you be interested in some fabric?" I'd taken photos of the furnishing fabric both of mine and Mum's that was if not new, lightly used, measured each piece and written out the sizes. "Yes please" Brilliant result. That will be dropped to her in Chudleigh tomorrow .
I sent a message to my brother asking if he would be able to help me get the carpet remnants down from the loft sometime next week. It will be interesting to see if he replies.
Stopped for elevenses with a slice of my egg, bacon & leek pie, by which time Indie was back from her morning walk with Suzanne. Indie was next on my To Do list. A quick trim, feathers, chest, belly, & any other fluffy untidy bits that Mum has been on about for ages. The only problem being as soon as you attempt to do anything with her she lays on her back making it a tad awkward.Indie that is, NOT Mum .  Got there in the end.
I left Mum with two jobs ... sort the towels, and go through the Xmas "stuff". That should keep her out of mischief til I see her tomorrow.
Back home at 1.30, lunch. Then pack the fabric up for delivery tomorrow. Then it was time to sit down for a while.
Cut hubby's hair this afternoon, before Tipping Point followed by The Chase. And cider :-D
Toad in the Hole for dinner tonight .. cider & mustard onion gravy. Yum!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.