San Damiano

Today I walked down a public footpath in Metheringham that I had not noticed before. I thought it may be a short-cut into the side of the village where my Folks live, but no - it leads into some fields!

Before I got that far though, I realised that you could see the Franciscan Hermitage, San Damiano from the path. It is the home of three Franciscan nuns (Poor Clares) and is open to be used as a retreat by a small number of guests, or for spiritual type meetings. There is a chapel in there too. The little green "log cabin" is for guests as well as a suite inside the main house.

My dad seemed a bit better today, mainly because he had managed to spend an hour outside in the garden with Ally this morning. He has an appointment with his doctor to discuss it all, but he has been offered a phone appointment which he is not happy about being deaf. Mum constantly talking while he's trying to hold a phone conversation makes it difficult too, as does the fact that she may not like everything he has to say. I may see if he wants me to call and try to get him in face-to-face. It may be best...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.