Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Dark woods

I even managed to wield the vacuum cleaner this morning. Not my favourite occupation, but the rooms look better for it.

After lunch I drove to Simonburn which is a small village/hamlet near to us. I often walk in the woods here. Today I found a different path which took me alongside the river for quite a way. I had to turn around when the going was too tough.

It was quite dark, but there are hundreds and hundreds of shoots sprouting everywhere.

I liked the light in the distance in this shot.

Tonight's photography talk was with Arteh Odjidja, an amazing documentary photographer. Here is the link to his website. He told us his life story and how his projects have developed. There was such a lot to like about his way of working with people. The session went on for two hours, which was long, but there were gems all the way. 

He found a way to work with his hero, Ozwald Boateng, the fashion designer, as a photographer on his team. It's too long to explain the ins and outs, but, after a shoot at the Moscow fashion show, he became friends with a young black man in Moscow. This lead to him finding young immigrants in the UK who have a story to tell, then setting up a project where others documented their own lives using cameras donated by Leica. Yes, that's correct!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.