ANYONE FOR TENNIS??

A busy day today.

Had the usual Friday Tai Chi session which was excellent and much needed as I 'd missed Monday's session.

Then I had quite a lot of emails and old school chums contacts to catch up with.   Followed by a quick walk around the block.  I went into the grounds of the old Abbey Manor Hotel, which became Lamberts Hotel just before it closed down (amidst some problems I believe).  It was never the best of hotels but did have a coffee shop which was great when we were looking in this area for a bungalow.  The grounds were always kept really well  

Not any more it is now going downhill rapidly.  This is actually the old tennis courts under flood - which is rapidly going downhill. Very sad to see it in this state really.  I do hate to see properties just left to decay.  They have an indoor swimming pool in the grounds which is showing signs of deterioration now but the children's play area looks OK, but I wouldn't recommend any child tries them out.

This afternoon, on a request via the People's Friend magazine which my Mother told me about, I contact someone who is looking for copies of Divisional Photos of people that served in the WRNS any time between 1947 and 1981.  They want to maintain an official archive of these.  I served for 5 yeas from 1972 (I always had it in my head that it was 1970!!!!).  So I contacted the lady, attempted to scan the photo but the scanner wasn't working so I just took a photo of a photo!!!  I have put a copy in extras.  I am the third from the right in the second row with a blouse that was 3 sizes too big because they'd run out of my size!!

Anyway I eventually did it and have it sent it to her.

I will soon be having a zoom session with C - just a chat and catch up over tea and zoom.  

That's all for today.  Do take care and stay safe.  Thank you so much for all your lovely comments, stars and hearts - all very much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.