Big City

I had my big holiday treat today. The highlight. The main event. 

I went to Edinburgh. 

Now, before anyone informs the Covid Stasi, it was all legal. Well, almost all. 

I went to have a coffee with Junior. He is my “extended family” so we are allowed to meet, and to travel to do so. Up to now he has come to visit me, but this week getting away from it all appealed to me - even for just 3 hours. 

We met outside and got takeaway coffees from Starbucks at Haymarket. Yes, I know. Starbucks. Me. 

Trouble is, nothing else nearby was open.  
 
Now, the illegal bit. We sat down on the benches outside the railway station. I am confident this was allowed for me, because I am old and had walked from Murrayfield (where I parked the car). I am just as confident it was not legal for him. He is young, and lives close by. 

It was interesting to be back in Edinburgh after an absence of 3 months. Lockdown (ooops, Level 4 with enhanced restrictions) is much more obvious in the city. 

The Blip is the ice rink where I parked the car. The scene of so many ice hockey memories over the years. Will it re-open, or will the owners face up to the inevitable and sell it for redevelopment as housing?

[For those who do not know Edinburgh, everything gets sold for redevelopment as housing eventually. The only doubt is the timing.] 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.