Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Everywhere you look!

That might be an exaggeration, but there are loads of catkins out at the moment. 

I was the hairdresser this morning and it was time to cut as well as to set. I may be doing OK, but I will be pleased when the hairdresser returns in April! 

Julie was in touch to see if I wanted a walk at short notice. We did a lovely wander by the river at Paradise (Barrasford) and then up through the woods and by the river before returning on the old railway line. There are many tiny shoots and I saw my first lesser celandine flower. The catkins are reigning supreme.

Julie recommended this morning's Hexham Debate which was a talk by Helen Salisbury, an Oxford GP, entitled What can the Pandemic teach us about a Good Society?  She spoke well and there was a lot to say about how the government could have done better from early on. The audience is mainly left of centre and very socially aware, so there was no dissent. 

She talked about how some countries have done well unexpectedly. If you want to listen here is the link. There are several minutes at the beginning before the talk starts, so I recommend scrolling forward (unless you enjoy watching paint dry)!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.