carliewired

By carliewired

Lynx Alert

Hidden in the brush
lurks a lonely lynx hoping
for a duck dinner!

~ carliewired

After a golden day yesterday, it was very discouraging to wake to snow on my deck early this morning. I watched the progress of its melt over several hours as evident on my mountains. The temperatures are now above freezing both day and night, so any snow arriving will not last long. The day looks grey and grim. Did I say I'm tired of winter?

Last week, my painting pal MG sent me a photo of a lynx hanging around her yard. (See upper left corner.) She lives on the outskirts of the city on ranch/farm land. She believes the lynx has been cleaning out the rodent population around her property. Her cat has been watching this predator safely from inside her house for over a week. For whatever reason, there are a number of lynx sitings in our city this winter. I don't remember ever hearing about them before this year. 

This past week it became evident that a lynx was prowling McArthur Island where I often visit. First, a jogger spotted one. Then, someone photographed the lynx grabbing a Mallard duck and running across the parking lot with it in his mouth. There was some suggestion that people had been feeding the ducks to bait the lynx. This is quite ridiculous as people have been feeding ducks here for many years. (long before any lynx showed up) There is a large population of waterfowl on the island and they wait for people to show up with food. 

Just this morning, the lynx was caught on camera stalking the ducks in the vicinity of their favourite 'hot tub'. When I arrived about 2:30 PM the police had already cordened off an area to keep lookers out. It has attracted a lot of attention from local people. Many  were walking the trails in the area with their dogs and children. People parked drinking coffee and waiting. Several photographers with big lenses had staked out their viewing spot along the waterway. Other than lots of ducks and hoards of people, I have nothing to report!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.