McArthur Island - South Side

A morning damp and
grey, with warming and some hope
of sun soon ahead

~ carliewired

I had to get myself out the door and away before the garbage truck made an appearance. Living in a cul de sac can sometimes have issues.
I guzzled down my coffee and made my escape by 7:30. No freezing overnight. It was just 2 C and grey as I left the house. 

I made a quick trip into the McArthur Island Park. Nothing is looking very pretty these days. As the snow disappears we're left with puddles and mud and last year's decaying vegetation on the ground. I parked on the south side and got a view of my mountains across the playing fields. The geese seemed to like the fields. I took a photo looking up the river towards the city's downtown. The Thompson River is low but the geese seem to like it there, too. The parking lot ducks were in full force. When I pulled into the parking lot several stood up and began to head in my direction. I disappoint them when I don't offer food. 

My big surprise this morning was my first sighting of a marmot. This one stood alone on the river's embankment. He must be the granddaddy of the colony. He looked very fat and sassy. I have no idea what there is to eat for him. He let me take his portrait and then he quickly disappeared. 

I'm home for the day with my daughter's company at some point. 

We can expect some rain today and a high of 6 C. Our upper elevation highways will be getting some snow. The temperatures improve as the week progresses. We will see some sunny days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.