Tranquille - The Nursery

Cold and wintery,
I don't think this is a good
place to have babies! 

~ carliewired

I was out the door to get some groceries at 7:30 this morning. If there was a colourful sunrise, I completely missed it. I thought I would pick up some breakfast, then some groceries and, finally, go out to Tranquille to see the calves I'd intended to view yesterday. 

I arrived at the usual pullout where I can view the pasture that holds the feed lot. There were many calves today. All the mamas were standing patiently waiting for the rancher to show up with grain and hay. He takes his sweet time and not just on Sunday. The field held the usual visitors - Canada geese and eagles. When I stepped out of my vehicle there was a cold, biting wind out of the east that shook my hold on my camera and almost took my breath away. I caught a Canadian National freight train moving into the city. It was carrying stacks of containers and had one engine at the front and one at the end. 

I drove on to Tranquille Farm to do my turnaround. I got a shot of my mountains in the east across the wetlands and the calving pasture/feed lot. The rancher was just arriving there with his pickup. I noticed a juvenile eagle arrive in the wetlands in the foreground. It landed below the shrubs in the lee of the wind. I zoomed in with the wind shaking my camera. 

I was home just after 9. I will make dinner for my daughter today. I might even squeeze in a nap! 

We can expect a mostly cloudy day with a high of 7 C and a chance of snow flurries. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.