Big Horn Sheep Near Tranquille

Extremely agile
these bad boys survey their world.
They graze and wander.

~ carliewired

I walked out of my bedroom at 6:30 to behold one dazzling sunrise over my mountains. I got myself out on the deck in a big hurry so as not to miss the show. It was a calm -6 C. 

I made my coffee, then sat down in my recliner to enjoy it. The sunrise colours faded rather quickly. I thought I would head out to Tranquille to see the calves. I left the house just after 8 stopping at the drive-thru to collect my breakfast to take with me.

Just before I got to the composting facility, a small herd of big horn sheep came up onto the road ahead of me. They were coming out of a field to my left. I pulled over to the shoulder making sure to be well off the road. This stretch often has speeding trucks. I got out with my camera to stand in front of my truck. Thankfully, the herd was unconcerned with me. They easily scrambled up the slope and over the fencing beside the tracks. They grazed along with their guard keeping watch from the highest point. I looked towards the lake to see a Canadian National freight train approaching from the west. The big horns drifted off into the grasslands and I got back into my truck. 

I was home just after 9. It will be a quiet day at home. A pot of soup would be nice.

Our forecast offers a mix of sun and cloud today and a high of 0 C.
I hope it's wrong about a chance of snow flurries overnight. Enough already!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.