Cold & Sunny

It was a cold walk
with my camera, but I
tucked it in my coat

~ carliewired

I caught something of the sunrise over my mountains at 7:30. It was a chilly, calm -11 C at that point. All of the new snow on my deck had disappeared yesterday. There is some heat in the sun even though the daytime high didn't get above freezing. 

I had my first coffee and then drove off to Riverside Park at 8:30. I parked on the west side near the tennis courts to walk up the bike path to the bridge. I caught sight of Canada geese and Trumpeter swans on the river. A pair of geese flew up from the river and over my head. I managed a quick shot of them as they came into the park. Half way up the bike path I can get a lovely view of the river and my mountains beside the park. The sun was glinting off the ice flowing in the river this morning. It made lovely sparkles. I looked across to the north shore where several dog walkers were out on the river bed. I noticed that the 'survivor tree' in the channel does not have any tenants today. On my way back down I did see a tent set up under the overhang of the trees on the foreshore. I can only imagine what it would be like to camp overnight when it's well below freezing. 

I picked up my drive-thru breakfast on my way back home. I will be out shopping for a cell phone this afternoon with my daughter. Perhaps we can find some lunch while we are at it. 

N is not available to work on the house today. I did get a date for the installation of flooring. It's planned for Monday, March 7th. 

Today, we can enjoy a sunny day with a high of -1 C. I'm looking forward to warmer nights and days after Sunday. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.