carliewired

By carliewired

Ice Flows

The river ice is
in motion. You can hear the
swish and tinkle

~ carliewired

It is much warmer today with 13C at noon. I shed boots, hat and coat for my outing before noon. What a relief! 

I was out early to get my groceries. Then,my mission today was to sort out a new washing machine. My present washer has already had a repair for the same existing problem. I don't think there's much point trying again. It's at least 20 years old so I think it's time it was retired to the appliance heap. 

My kids tell me I need a pair. Even though there's nothing wrong with the dryer, which is also 20 + years old, they insist the pair should match. I know they are thinking of the resale value of my home, but they don't yet understand that I have no intentions of ever leaving this house! However, there could be some merit in buying a pair. The dryer could pack it in next week and then where would I be? 

I went to see my friendly neighbourhood appliance store and found my familiar saleslady. She sold me my new kitchen appliances last fall. We had a good chat, she took my cheque and ordered my new washer and dryer for me. They should be arriving for installation in about 2 weeks. Hopefully, I can coax my old washing machine through another 14 days. 

Once that was off my mind I could enjoy a little side trip to the Schubert Lookout where I always find the most animated ducks to watch and photograph. I noted the great amount of ice moving south in the river. I could hear it as the chunks collide and swish through the channel. 

Mr. and Mrs. Duck were enjoying more freedom on the river. They moved easily between the park and the water. There are more spaces to swim in now. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.