The second half of life..

By twigs

Jackson Bay from Muriwai hilltop walk

What can I say - another stunning day.  

Decided to do at least part of the Muriwai hilltop walk despite the very warm temperatures and a later than intended start.  Hey ho.  The views from the top were of course stunning - Jackson Bay to one side and Great Barrier Island to the other, although far more distant.  After the initial climb and a shortish walk to the next bay where there was a steep descent followed immediately by a steep walk up the other side I decided not to go any further but, as the location had presented itself as an idyllic place to simply sit and watch, sit and listen, sit and feel the sun and sit and be that's what I did.  Such a lovely space to spend time.

It was a long-ish drive up here to Jackson Bay but I guess it's the long and rather challenging drive that keeps the place so relatively un-touched.  Only those who accept the challenge and risk of the road get to really enjoy it and whilst the road may be a pain, to change it would surely change the whole experience.  I'm pretty sure I could have spent a lot longer here and continued to enjoy it - I'm definitely adding it to my  "do it again" list.......maybe springtime next time, to see the beautiful pohutukawas in bloom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.