pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

School closure

The Daddy School of Excellence closed its doors for what we hope will be the final time today.

We were extremely blessed that the weather was kind to us once more and were able to get two walks in. One under the guise of Owen needing to do his Fairtrade homework research at Asda, so we walked up there and the second one was to get some exterior shots for the final President Teddy video to be shot under home-school conditions: Last Day.

That’s what has been captured here by my friend Doddsy, who we happened to bump into as we prepped President Teddy for a madcap loop around New Road park whilst tied to a scooter. I really like the on-set nature of the shot that he has captured here!

It is definitely time for them to go back. I remarked to my boss today that when approaching the finishing line, some will find an extra gear and burst through the tape, whilst others have expended all their energy and just about collapse over the line. I must confess that today, I fell very much in the latter camp. Again, I take my hat off to those full-time single parents who have had to do this: I simply do not know how you have done it.

Despite a busy, challenging day, we made it through and finished by completing the video – I am proud to say, almost entirely edited by Owen – and demolishing the current family favourite: chorizo & pasta followed by Eton Mess, which I’ve never made before, but is so blummin’ easy and delicious.

In a final display of synergy, we finished the excellent animated series: Ultimate Spider-Man versus The Sinister Six. 

Later on in the evening, I even got to spend some time cuddled up with The Eldest as we had a nice long chat about her future plans and some of the stuff she’s dealing with. It’s a nice thought for me that when the wee ones go back, she’ll still be here for another night and day!

Stay healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.