Back in the old days

Not a bad day today, getting better as it went on. After lunch I went up to the garden centre at Appin to pick up a couple of shrubs for the garden - biggish ones, so rather on the pricey side. I bought Hamamelis x intermedia 'Pallida', a nice pale yellow flowered hybrid witch hazel, in flower just now, maybe just going over. At least I know it's big enough to flower each winter from now on. I also bought a fair-sized Corylopsis spicata, a medium-sized shrub in the witch hazel family, from China and Japan,  which bears racemes of pale yellow flowers in early spring. Both are fragrant. I suggested to the owner that I didn't really have a good reason for driving off to buy shrubs, but she told me it was good for my mental well-being! I agreed!

On the way back I passed this beautiful piece of old crofting machinery, almost silhouetted against the afternoon sun.

Limerick of the Day: 

Up to Appin today I was fleeing
And the buying of plants guaranteeing!
I was told by the owner,
(Whose name is Fiona)
It was good for my mental well-being!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.