The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Not again!

Last week, GG gave me a little present by way of a thank you for various favours I'd done for her, mainly ordering books and face cream online. It was a scented candle, and today I decided to light it. Silly me.

It was only Christmas last year when I went to bed wheezing after an evening or two in the company of a scented candle. Then, I thought, oh no! CoVid?

Today I thought, hmmm, why does my chest hurt? Scented candle, maybe? I shall have to find someone to give it to, because it's a posh one, while warning them of the dangers of accidental exposure to paraffin wax.

I've spent most of the day at my desk, doing bits and bobs. I didn't have to go to school for my CoVid test, because I had it on site yesterday. From next week we'll have TWO test kits per week to take home. Deep joy.

Listened to a WEA members' lecture on the Ethics of Reading, with reference to Sally Rooney's Normal People. No, I had never thought about the ethics of reading before. I hadn't even read the book, only seen the sexy BBC version, the TV highlight of Lockdown #1. My first thought was, one might as well question the ethics of breathing! Reader, I was curious, so I turned in. I'm slightly the wiser for it, and possibly interested in doing a course with the same tutor on Fictions of Empire. The colonial fiction course I was going to do has been postponed until September. This one is only a 5-weeker. I must look it up (Empire is something I feel uneasy about, my parents and grandparents having been brought up in India. Some people say the soul chooses to incarnate to a certain set of parents. I'm not so sure).

The jigsaw in the background is called the Four seasons, by Haruyo Morita. I'll blip it when it's finished. Only started today. I have also joined a puzzle club, to buy 1x 1,000 piece puzzle a month, and have it delivered. They come from a particular manufacturer, there isn't a choice, but one can always skip a month. I've done so many puzzles I was only half interested in, over the past year, that I've decided to only buy ones that I really like, and to sell the toppling pile of 'only slightly interesting' ones, or give them to the school shop. With luck, my card stall will open next month, and so will the charity shops. Must remind myself not to spend more money on more 'slightly interesting' ones. I have not yet become an eBay jigsaw millionaire, despite my best efforts in 2020.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.