WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

No Toilet Humour!

I know many of you probably think it's idyllic living on a narrowboat and for the most part it is. BUT! There is a lot of maintenance and something always needs fixing.
Today it was the loo.
Poor Frank spent the afternoon trying to find out why the cassette toilet on the boat has started leaking. NOT PEE! It's the flush water so everytime a full cassette is taken out there is water everywhere underneath.
He thought it might be a split in the water pipe but couldn't see one. He ended up taking the whole thing to bits and cleaning all the seals. A dirty job but someone's gotta do it. He was right fed up but once he'd had a shower, a beer and a curry he was his usual chirpy self.
I gave everything a thorough clean afterwards too.

I was on various UK sites today looking up when I could start walking on my foot. There is conflicting advice depending on which NHS hospital trust you look at.
Some say to stop using the funny shoe after 2 weeks but don't walk far and others say after 3 weeks.  
Proper walking when no longer painful in about 5 weeks.
I'm just getting impatient!

Speaking of the NHS, I am disgusted with the government and their miserly, meagre 1%. After all the money they have wasted during the pandemic and the hard work, sacrifices and heartache the nurses have been through.

It was mainly cloudy today with a bit of sunshine popping through. I sat on the back deck for a while watching the antics of a swan and Bella. They have a funny relationship. They watch each other intently and get close enough for the swan to peck and for Bella to bare her teeth and snap. But that's all. Bella is jealous if I feed the swan so I have to feed her too.

 For a short while I stood on my good foot and leaned against the garden wall to pull some weeds out. Only in a small patch and they were the shallow rooted kind but they were a thick carpet around the bulbs that are coming through.

We were just about to go to bed and Frank has just taken Bella out for a pee. Earlier I had said that I could hear a lamb continually bleating and I thought maybe it couldn't find its mum. Frank had said they always find each other. Anyway, he just came back in and said 'You were right a lamb has got stuck in the other field'.
So he's gone out now with a torch to try and get it back to mum.
It's taking a while...
He should have listened to me in the first place...after all I am always right!

Goodnight :-)X

Mum and lamb are reunited! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.