carliewired

By carliewired

Creek to Lake Overload

Why can't we take care
of this beautiful world we
have been blessed with here?

~ carliewired

I launched late without coat, boots or hat. We were promised a high of 15 C which is warm for late winter. Sun is still meagre, but improving. 

I wanted my first picnic lunch of the year, soTranquille Creek seemed like a good location. The creek is looking less wintery now, although not green by any stretch of the imagination. I did encounter a bee which must have been disappointed not to find even one dandelion. I was surprised to see someone had set up their motorhome beside the creek. I assumed they'd been there overnight. That's very early camping! 

I drove on to the landing above Kamloops Lake. I could see down to the beach where humans crawled around like ants on a picnic blanket. There were dogs running and fires lit. Tranquille Creek showed as a white wiggly line emptying into the lake. 

I am familiar with this area as a plein air painter. I would normally be out with a painting pal and we would see very few other people for hours at a time. Now, this area is on overload. There are cars parked everywhere. People are walking, hiking and biking. They walk into the grasslands and take their big dogs off the leash without a thought for the environment or wildlife. I am quite appalled to see litter at every place I stop now. Can we not be responsible for our own garbage? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.