Eagles on the River

I just had to go 
looking for eagles on this
sunny Sunday morn

~ carliewired

I was out on my deck just after 6 catching the first light in the east. It was -3 C and not a cloud to be seen. I had a leisurely coffee then headed out the door before the city woke up. 

After a stop for some grocery items, I collected my breakfast then drove over the bridge to Mission Flats. I had hopes to find eagles before I had my breakfast. 

I found a small group just where I'd last seen them. They were strung out along a sandbar in the river channel. As before, I walked down to the riverbed to catch these eagles. There was a carcass in the river that was being picked over. I didn't find this very appetizing as I hadn't had my breakfast yet. I walked back up the slope and drove further down the road to check the eagle tree. There was just one eagle perched there. His head and chest feathers looked wet. He must have been part of the gang on the river I'd just seen. 

I finished breakfast enjoying the river views. I took the cappuccino home to finish it . I'm home for the day. My daughter will be with me for dinner. 

We can expect a mainly sunny day with a high of 13 C. I'll take it! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.